For the Fallen Ones   6 comments

I have some things dear
to me, and I really feel
it when they are gone

 Forest Fog

On my forest walks in the hills just north of town, I’m still shaken by the sight of shattered trees left behind from an early November ice storm: fallen towers of ancient fir, splintered old maple limbs, raw-fingered root masses. Many of my personal touchstones are gone from their sky-filling places, and I miss them, so I search until I find their long, strong bones stretched out downslope, already settling into their next stage of giving.

Posted January 13, 2015 by pjsisson in Uncategorized

Tagged with , , , , , , ,

6 responses to “For the Fallen Ones

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. So beautifully expressed. 🙂

  2. Ah, yes. They are called “nurse trees” because of their giving back to the earth. 🙂

  3. My heart is with yours, Jill, for cherished fallen trees.. You write eloquently, with such honor and love… so touching!

Leave a Reply

